Beware the Hidden Insurance Costs When the
Insurance Company Pays Damages After Your
Accident
Drive Carefully or Call Us!
This obsequeous little marketing phrase is really
important to remember should you be unfortunate
enough to run into one of North Carolina's finest when
driving down the road. My hope is that this outline will
make you see the wisdom of getting an attorney for
even the most minor of traffic violations.
Now that I have your attention you ask: "How do I find out
the number of insurance points I'm facing when I get a
ticket?" The easy answer is calling your attorney for a
free consultation. However, since you are here read on
and see how really scary this is! Then you will start to
understand why attorneys can help.

See the chart at the bottom of this page for insurance
points by criminal offense.

If you are involved in an accident and are deemed
"at-fault" (negligent) by the insurance carrier you get
insurance points.

So you thought you had heard all about the insurance
point nightmare, wrong!

a. If you are involved in a major accident resulting in (i)
bodily injury or death, or (ii) only property damage of
$2,500.00 or more you will be charged 3 insurance
points.
b. If you are involved in a intermediate accident resulting
in only property damage of $1,501.00 up to $2,500.00
you will be charged 2 insurance points.
c. If you are involved in a minor accident and cause
property damage of $1,500.00 or less it is 1 insurance
point.
d. If you are involved in a accident with more than
$500.00 in bodily injury expense you will be charged 3
insurance points.
e. If you are involved in a accident with less than
$500.00 in bodily injury expense you will be charged 1
insurance point.

If there is any good news in this it is this:

a. Accidents caused by contact with animals (deer) or
fowl are exempted from at-fault accidents.
b. Accidents caused by flying gravel or falling objects,
which result in property damage alone, are exempted
from at-fault accidents.
c. If you are convicted of a traffic violation in connection
with the at-fault accident which causes property damage
and/or bodily injury, you are punished once in that you
get the greater point value as outlined above, between
the points assigned for the traffic violation and the points
assigned for the bodily injury and/or property damage.
The insurance points are not added together.

However there is more bad news:

a. You can't avoid insurance points by paying for
damages in minor accidents where you are "at-fault."
b. Points stay on your record for three (3) years.

Well what can an attorney do for me? Lawyers have
knowledge of the insurance point system and how to
minimize the number of points involved with a traffic
citation. Without giving away all our secrets, we use a
combination of "plea bargaining" to lesser offenses,
citation modification to "non-moving" violations and the
use of a "prayer for judgment continued" to insure that no
final conviction is entered from which insurance points
can be calculated, and of course, we also try cases and
put the State or Government to task on your behalf.

Beware of the Hidden Insurance
Costs From Your Traffic Violation
For "Jacks or better," tickets cost you money! People just
don't understand the enormous financial consequences
of the so-called "garden variety" speeding ticket, not to
mention the possibility of losing your license.

The North Carolina Auto Insurance Point System is a law
that allows insurance companies to charge people big
bucks, if they have been convicted of "violating" the motor
vehicle laws of our state or another state. The reason for
this is that people who violate (who are convicted of an
offense or who pay off the ticket) the driving laws or who
have been involved in accidents for which they are
deemed at fault by the insurance companies, are more
likely to be involved in accidents in the future resulting in
claims. The insurance companies have convinced our
lawmakers that those who cause them to have to pay out
more in claims will have to pay more than the rest of
mankind and do so for three (3) years. Good in theory --
Bad in practice!

The point system applies to insurance policies on
automobiles, motorcycles and motorized scooters. The
insurance points assessed against your policy may come
from the traffic violations or accidents of any named
insured (like your spouse), listed drivers (like your kids)
or any other drivers in your household.

This point system (or the insurance company money tree)
raises your premium on all coverage's on your policy, not
just the liability portion. The only exception is that there is
not an increase (surcharge) on the portion of your
premium that pays for uninsured motorist and
underinsured motorist coverage. If you have more than
one vehicle on your policy, the increase in premium is
added to the highest rated vehicle (the one with the
biggest premium only). This is not necessarily the one
which you were driving when you got the ticket or had the
accident.

So you ask: "How much can the insurance company
charge me? Below is the increase in your insurance by
points.

1------------------25%
2------------------45%
3------------------65%
4------------------90%
5------------------120%
6------------------150%
7------------------180%
8------------------220%
9------------------260%
10----------------300%
11----------------350%
12----------------400%


Offense Number of Insurance Points

DWI (driving with blood alcohol level of .08% or more). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12*
Driving a commercial vehicle with blood alcohol of .04% or more. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
Hit and run driving involving death or bodily injury . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
Transporting illegal intoxicating liquor for sale. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .12
Pre-arranged highway racing or lending a car for such purposes. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .12
Manslaughter or negligent homicide involving a motor vehicle. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
Speeding to elude arrest (At any speed). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
Non pre-arranged highway racing or lending a car for such purposes. . . . . . . . . . . 10
Driving during a period of revocation, or suspension of license or registration . . . .8
Reckless driving . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
Passing a stopped School Bus while it is displaying a warning sign . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
Hit and run involving property damage only . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
Driving after consuming alcohol or drugs, driver is less than 21 years of age . . . . .4
Speeding in excess of 75 MPH where posted speed is less than 70 MPH. . . . . . . 4
Speeding in excess of 80 MPH where posted speed is less than 70 MPH . . . . . . .4
Illegal Passing. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .2
Following to closely. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
Driving on the wrong side of the road. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
Speeding more than 10 MPH and speed in excess of 55 but less than 75 MPH. . .2**
Speeding 10 MPH or less where the posted speed is less than 55 MPH. . . . . . . . 1**
Any other conviction of a moving violation (exceeding safe speed, etc.). . . . . . . . . 1

* No points assigned if the license is revoked under G.S. 20-16.5 and the driver is subsequently
acquitted of the DWI or the violation that was the cause of the revocation.

** No points (by waiver) if the driver has no other moving violation in the previous 3 years.
However, if the driver gets this waiver of points and then gets convicted of a moving violation, he
then gets the points from both the new conviction and for the waived conviction.
Copyright 2010, Noble & Quinn, Attorneys at Law, P.C.
Attorneys at Law, PC
"At Noble & Quinn,
Our Clients Come First"
Drive Carefully
Or Call Us!